A professor in class teaching

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate represents the Faculty and makes recommendations to the Administration through the Faculty. It has an Executive Committee and three sub-committees: Budget and Efficiency, Curriculum and Faculty Affairs, which also serves as a faculty grievance committee.

Current Senators
Faculty Senators 2015-2017
Name Title Department E-mail address Phone #
Samuel G. London President History & Political Science slondon@oakwood.edu x7225
Victoria Joiner Vice President/Faculty Affairs Communication & Fine Arts vmiller@oakwood.edu x7322
Shaunda Roach Budget & Efficiency Chair Business & Information Systems sroach@oakwood.edu x7071
Trevor Fraser Curriculum Chair Masters Program – Religion tfraser@oakwood.edu x8409
Joshua Williams Faculty Affairs Chair English & Modern Language jpwilliams@oakwood.edu x7195
Isariah Hannah Secretary/Curriculum Allied Health ihannah@oakwood.edu x7231
Benson Prigg Asst. Secretary/Curriculum English & Modern Language bprigg@oakwood.edu x7603
Karen Benn-Marshall Ex-Officio Academic Administration kmarshall@oakwood.edu x7005
Ellengold Goodridge Curriculum Secretary Adult & Continuing Education (LEAP) egoodridge@oakwood.edu x7098
Nigel Barham Ex-Officio At large nbarham@oakwood.edu n/a
Londa Schmidt Curriculum Biology lschmidt@oakwood.edu x7053
Kyle Mackey Curriculum Business & Information Systems kmackey@oakwood.edu x7077
Marlon Rhem Budget & Efficiency Chemistry mrhem@oakwood.edu x8437
Dana Wilchcombe Curriculum Education dwilchcombe@oakwood.edu x7159
open Health & Exercise Science
Jacqueline Neath-Foster Budget & Efficiency Library jnfoster@oakwood.edu x7252
Tara Young Budget & Efficiency Mathematics tlyoung@oakwood.edu x7275
Audley Chambers Faculty Affairs Music achambers@oakwood.edu x7282
open Nursing
open Budget & Efficiency Nutrition & Dietetics
Pamelea Cook Faculty Affairs Psychology pcook@oakwood.edu x7048
G. Russell Seay Faculty Affairs Secretary Religion gseay@oakwood.edu x7362
George Ashley Faculty Affairs Social Work gashley@oakwood.edu x8499
History

A Brief History of the
FACULTY SENATE
(1987-2011)

The Faculty Senate represents the Faculty and makes recommendations to the Administration through the Faculty. It has an Executive Committee and three sub-committees: Budget and Efficiency, Curriculum and Faculty Affairs, which also serves as a faculty grievance committee.

PRESIDENTS:

1987-1990 Garland DULAN
1990-1997 Nigel BARHAM
1997-2001 Edith FRASER
2001-2007 Trevor FRASER
2007-2011 Paulette McLean JOHNSON

1987 Began General Education Requirements Review
1987 Revised Remedial Courses
1991 Revised Faculty Handbook
1991 Approved Departmental Course Fees
1995 Assisted in Change from Quarter to Semester System
1995 Approved Adult and Continuing Education Department
1995 Approved Major in Finance
1995 Approved Major in Health Science
1995 Dropped B.A. in Biology
1997 Approved Major in Fitness and Wellness
1997 Approved Major in International Studies
1997 Approved Major in Business Administration with Concentrations
1999 Revised Faculty Handbook
1999 Began Academic Departmental Reviews
1999 Began Faculty Remuneration Benefits
2000 Began Faculty Forums
2001 Approved Major in Professional Writing
2001 Dropped B.A. in Chemistry
2003 Approved Communications Department
2003 Began Reviewing Faculty Publications for Stipends
2003 Dropped Major in Religion
2005 Approved Majors in French and Spanish
2005 Approved Major in Pre-Law
2005 Approved Major in Biomedical Science
2007 Approved Masters Degree in Theology
2007 Revised Faculty Handbook
2007 Completed departmental Reviews in Music and Health & PE
2008 Developed website
2008 Reviewed and approved attendance policy for students not financially cleared
2009 Approved BM in Music Composition & Recording Arts
2009 Approved the conferring of the honorary doctorate, Doctor of Laws (LL.D.), at graduation
2009 Approved the inclusion of CAS, the library and Faculty Development in departmental reviews
2009 Reviewed Chair Rotation Policy and made recommendation
2010 Reviewed and retained Grade Policy
2010 Approved Intellectual Property Policy
2010 Approved Church leadership Degree for LEAP
2010 Approved Information Technology Degree for LEAP
2010 Approved Bachelor of Science in General Studies
2010 Approved Management Information Systems Program

2011 Revise Part-time Faculty Handbook

Read the full history here

Committees

Executive
Benson Prigg               Vice Chair
Heather James             Secretary
Shonda Roach             Member
Martin Hodnett             Member
Trevor Frasier               Member
George Ashley             EX-Officio
Nigel Barham               Invitee

Budget & Efficiency Committee
–    Shaunda Roach, Chair
•    Juliet Durant
•    Earl Henry
•    Heather James
•    Joseph Jeries
•    Marlon Rhem
•    Donaldson Williams

Curriculum Committee
–    Trevor Fraser, Chair•    Isariah Hannah
•    Violet Gilbert
•    Samuel London
•    Juliet Penrod
•    Benson Prigg
•    Ellen Goodridge

Faculty Affairs
–    Martin Hodnett, Chair
•    Lorraine Frye
•    Makeda Hampton
•    G. Russell Seay
•    Janice Watson
•    Joshua Williams

Faculty Voice:
–    Benson Prigg, Managing Editor
TBA, Editorial Assistant
Patricia Conwell, Member – Editorial Board
TBA, Member – Editorial Board
Shaunda Roach – Budget

Contributors
Moges Selassie
Patricia Conwell
Kyna Hinson

Contact Us

Samuel G. London, President
Phone: 726-7225
Email: slondon@oakwood.edu