Select Page

A professor in class teaching

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate represents the Faculty and makes recommendations to the Administration through the Faculty. It has an Executive Committee and three sub-committees: Budget and Efficiency, Curriculum and Faculty Affairs, which also serves as a faculty grievance committee.

Current Senators
Victoria Joiner President Communication & Fine Arts vjoiner@oakwood.edu 256-726-7322
Joycelyn Peterson Member Nutrition and Dietetics jpeterson@oakwood.edu 256-726-7228
Ramona Hyman Faculty Affairs Chair English & Foreign Languages rhyman@oakwood.edu 256-726-7188
Trevor Fraser Curriculum Chair Religion & Theology

(Master’s Program)

tfraser@oakwood.edu 256-726-8409
Shaunda Roach Budget & Efficiency Chair Business & information Systems sroach@oakwood.edu 256-726-7071
Karen Benn-Marshall Ex-Officio VP Academic Administration kmarshall@oakwood.edu 256-726-7005
Nigel Barham Ex-Officio At Large nbarham@oakwood.edu 256-604-2632
Paulette Johnson Member Library pjohnson@oakwood.edu 256-726-7250
George Ashley Member Social Work gashley@oakwood.edu 256-726-8499
George R. Seay Member Religion & Theology gseay@oakwood.edu 256-726-7362
Isariah Hannah Secretary Allied Health ihannah@oakwood.edu 256-726-7231
Habtalem kenea Member Business & Information Systems hkenea@oakwood.edu 256-726-7439
Amanda Ringer Member History & Political Science aringer@oakwood.edu
Benson Prigg Member English & Foreign Language bprigg@oakwood.edu 256-726-7603
Patrick Ochieng Member Chemistry pochieng@oakwood.edu 256-726-7115
Darayas Patel Member Math & Computer Sciences dpatel@oakwood.edu 256-726-7558
Londa Schmidt Member Biological Sciences lschmidt@oakwood.edu 256-726-7053
Pauline Sawyers Member Psychological Sciences psawyers@oakwood.edu 256-726-8275
Dana Wilchcombe Member Education dwilchcombe@oakwood.edu 256-726-7159
Terry Hamilton Member Health & Exercise Science thamilton@oakwood.edu 256-726-7315
Ellengold Goodridge Curriculum Secretary LEAP egoodridge!oakwoo.edu 256-726-7098
Julie Foster Member Music jfoster@oakwood.edu 256-726-7496
Arlene Wimbley Member Institutional Effectiveness wimbley@oakwood.edu 256-726-7243
Eunice Muriu Secretary Nursing emuriu@oakwood.edu 256-726-7292
History

A Brief History of the
FACULTY SENATE
(1987-2011)

The Faculty Senate represents the Faculty and makes recommendations to the Administration through the Faculty. It has an Executive Committee and three sub-committees: Budget and Efficiency, Curriculum and Faculty Affairs, which also serves as a faculty grievance committee.

PRESIDENTS:

1987-1990 Garland DULAN
1990-1997 Nigel BARHAM
1997-2001 Edith FRASER
2001-2007 Trevor FRASER
2007-2011 Paulette McLean JOHNSON

1987 Began General Education Requirements Review
1987 Revised Remedial Courses
1991 Revised Faculty Handbook
1991 Approved Departmental Course Fees
1995 Assisted in Change from Quarter to Semester System
1995 Approved Adult and Continuing Education Department
1995 Approved Major in Finance
1995 Approved Major in Health Science
1995 Dropped B.A. in Biology
1997 Approved Major in Fitness and Wellness
1997 Approved Major in International Studies
1997 Approved Major in Business Administration with Concentrations
1999 Revised Faculty Handbook
1999 Began Academic Departmental Reviews
1999 Began Faculty Remuneration Benefits
2000 Began Faculty Forums
2001 Approved Major in Professional Writing
2001 Dropped B.A. in Chemistry
2003 Approved Communications Department
2003 Began Reviewing Faculty Publications for Stipends
2003 Dropped Major in Religion
2005 Approved Majors in French and Spanish
2005 Approved Major in Pre-Law
2005 Approved Major in Biomedical Science
2007 Approved Masters Degree in Theology
2007 Revised Faculty Handbook
2007 Completed departmental Reviews in Music and Health & PE
2008 Developed website
2008 Reviewed and approved attendance policy for students not financially cleared
2009 Approved BM in Music Composition & Recording Arts
2009 Approved the conferring of the honorary doctorate, Doctor of Laws (LL.D.), at graduation
2009 Approved the inclusion of CAS, the library and Faculty Development in departmental reviews
2009 Reviewed Chair Rotation Policy and made recommendation
2010 Reviewed and retained Grade Policy
2010 Approved Intellectual Property Policy
2010 Approved Church leadership Degree for LEAP
2010 Approved Information Technology Degree for LEAP
2010 Approved Bachelor of Science in General Studies
2010 Approved Management Information Systems Program

2011 Revise Part-time Faculty Handbook

Read the full history here

Committees

Executive

  • Victoria Joiner, Chair
  • Shaunda Roach
  • Trevor Fraser
  • Ramona Hyman
  • Nigel Barham
  • Jocelyn Peterson
  • Isariah Hannah (Secretary)
  • Eunice Muriu (Secretary)

 


Budget & Efficiency Committee

  • Shaunda Roach, Chair
  • Paulette Johnson
  • Patrick Ochieng
  • Amanda Ringer
  • Darayas Patel
  • Jocelyn Peterson

 

Curriculum Committee

  • Trevor Fraser, Chair
  • Habtalem Kenea
  • Isariah Hannah
  • Londa Schmidt
  • Ellengold Goodridge (Secretary)
  • Benson Prigg
  • Karen Benn-Marshall
  • Dana Wilchcomb
  • Nigel Barham
  • Eunice Muriu

 

Faculty Affairs

  • Ramona Hyman, Chair
  • Julie Moore Foster
  • George Ashley
  • Pauline Sawyers
  • George Russel Seay (Secretary)
  • Terry Hamilton

 

Contact Us

Samuel G. London, President
Phone: 726-7225
Email: slondon@oakwood.edu

EnglishFrenchGermanKoreanSpanish